A Long Week

The last several days have been difficult, to say the very least. My job has taken a mental and physical toll on me, so much so that at several points during the last few days I have honestly thought of walking out the door and never returning. Friday was a prime example of this.

On Thursday, a day which I was only supposed to be in the building for eight hours, I was alone for nearly two hours before the rest of my co-workers arrived. During that two hours, I was insanely busy and not once had a moment to do anything other than serve customers. We were behind on prep, dishes, cleaning, you name it. Even worse? The phone kept ringing off and on as I scrambled to fill order after order. When my co-workers arrived, they took over up front and I was able to answer the phone.

It was Kent and he wanted to know if I could close that night. Oh and could I come in and close the next day as well?

Being an idiot, I said yes. Thursday wasn’t so horrible, as I had two people who could run the front and I could work in the back but Friday…

Friday was a nightmare. It was a rainy day and a local music festival had been rained out. So everyone had to come to the mall. And I was short a person, as it was only me and one of the newer girls until eight that night. And we were busy. Very busy. I didn’t stop serving customers until 8:35, which almost never happens on a weeknight.

I didn’t walk out of the building until 10:50. I was tired, pissed and extremely hungry, as I hadn’t even been able to get a meal break that day. I just wanted to walk out and never return to that building ever again.

Soon enough, that day will come. I just want to make it until then.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Long Week

  1. daiAtlas says:

    There is a feeling of satisfaction in having endured some trying times before moving on to something better…

    ~daiAtlas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silverwynde says:

    Oh yeah, that is true. Some don’t enjoy the marketing that we’re doing right now but as I’ve said, “It could be worse.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

