How I Spent My (Crappy) Summer Vacation

It’s been a while, but I’ve been busy.

For the last two weeks or so, I’ve been working two jobs, going between Costco and Subway. Costco’s been a lot of fun and I’ve enjoyed it. Subway, on the other hand, not so much.

But now that’s all over. Today was my official last day at Subway. I am done with making sandwiches.

I’ll admit it’s a little bittersweet: I will miss some of the people who worked there. But as for the job itself, I’m not at all upset. The work wasn’t difficult but the hours were long and the pay was terrible. I lost count of how many times I was abandoned by my coworkers on busy days or forced to stay and close the place when someone couldn’t or wouldn’t show. I lost count of the petty feuds that arose between some of my coworkers who, for whatever reason, simply couldn’t stand each other. I lost count of the days I came home with my back sore and feet aching, because I had been standing for 11 hours straight.

All of that, I will not miss. The days spent finishing prep while joking around, I will. But I’ll happily leave that behind for better things.

I wish my coworkers well. I also hope that they can find something a lot better than Subway. They deserve it.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, PokΓ©mon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I Spent My (Crappy) Summer Vacation

  1. daiAtlas says:

    What you said above reminds me of some of the great co-workers of years past I’ve know even when I lived in Primus-forsaken places like Suckton. The work could be okay or stressful yet the talks we’d have or activities we’d do made them a second family of sorts. Since moving on from there in 2010, I wish many of them have also moved on to better things for themselves and their loved ones. Without even the emotional support I got during my tenure, I’d gone mad after the split from my evil folks

    Growing older, I can now truly see how it becomes another chapter in the book of your life before turning the page to a new chapter forward. All the best to you at CostCo! πŸ™‚

    Happy Labor Day weekend to you and Mr. Prime. Louisville, KY for BC ’16 will be fun simply because we make it what we want it to be. πŸ™‚

    ~daiAtlas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silverwynde says:

    It really kills me that I know good people who are stuck at there. Management doesn’t appreciate them at all and morale was at a low. But it was the friendships that kept us going. I miss that.

    Some have said “Enough!” and left, which makes me glad.

    And I can hardly wait until April. I hope we get to tour Louisville Slugger. That would be epic. XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

