Dodging the Bullet

I had a rather bad day at work yesterday; I don’t want to go into the details but suffice it say that I’m not fond of one of the front end managers right now. But as I sat down on the bus to finally get home, I noticed one of my former coworkers sitting across from me. She’s doing well but my old Subway? Not so much.

It seems that a few weeks after I left, a new manager took over. Our old manager? No one has seen him in months. But the new manager is a serial sexual harasser who makes crude comments to any female who happens to be working in the building. Even worse? He sneaked up behind one poor girl–and yes, she is in her teens–and slapped her on the backside. Corporate knows about all of this, but nothing has been done. (This is Subway. They knew about Jared so I’m not surprised about this in the least.)

It gets worse: my old shift manager? He barely gets any hours at all and when he is there, he acts like a complete prick. He’s been riding everyone else’s back, giving them grief and acting like a total jerk. Part of it may be because his hours have been reduced; he’s now working anywhere from three to six hours a day. He used to get full shifts but now he’s been reduced to little more than part time help. This might explain why the building is now in bad shape: according to my former coworker, the back of the store is absolutely filthy now. There is mold on the walls and on parts of the floor. The power jet sink had been broken for the last two months and all dishes had to be washed by hand. The person who was stuck doing all the closings in my wake couldn’t get out of the building until 11:30 or 12 at night because of this. But it gets even worse.

The mall is open on Thanksgiving. My former coworker said that she had been scheduled on Thanksgiving to work from 6PM to 10AM… and was due back in on Friday at 4 that afternoon. In other words, she’d have maybe four or five hours to go home and get a little sleep after working 16 straight hours before she’d have to do it all over again.

That was when she quit. She didn’t even give a two week notice. She just read the schedule and quit on the spot. I can’t blame her.

So after hearing all of this, I had to admit that my day wasn’t quite so bad. I don’t have to worry about working 16 hours straight. I’m off for Thanksgiving. I’m working around seven hours on Black Friday. My schedule is pretty damned nice. So I can’t complain all that much about one manager acting like a tool towards me. It could be worse. It could be a lot worse.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dodging the Bullet

  1. daiAtlas says:

    Hopefully that dumbass manager at your new place has become a minor footnote to what I hope was a great move on your part to start working working where you are now. I know you you had your heart set on it for many years. 🙂

    ~daiAtlas

    Like

    • Silverwynde says:

      The freaky thing? He’s actually become nicer to me. I’d heard rumors that he wasn’t totally happy so that might have been part of the problem. But now we’ve been getting along just fine.

      Funny how a few weeks will change things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

