Simple Pleasures

(In case you are wondering, I’ll be finishing up my latest “An Atheist Reads” post by the end of this week. Stay tuned.)

This past Saturday, my dear hubby Prime insisted that I should hop off the net and play a game or two on my 3DS. I started up my copy of X but Prime stopped me. He wanted to take of something on there first, he said. I saved, handed over my 3DS and when he handed it back, I was surprised to see the cursor hovering over my Pokemon games folder. Curious, I opened it and my jaw dropped in surprise: I had three new unwrapped games waiting for me. Namely, the Virtual Console Pokemon Red, Pokemon Blue and Pokemon Yellow games.

After thanking Prime–because he really didn’t have to do that but he’s super-awesome and did it anyway–I started on Yellow. Why Yellow? It’s the only one out of the trio I have never touched.

It’s been a great trip down Nostalgia Lane: I started my Pokemon journey in 2000 with a copy of Red and a dandelion colored Game Boy Color that Prime purchased for me. The games were a lot simpler then; we didn’t have to worry about things like IVs and shininess but in other ways, they were more difficult. (Ugh, the grinding can kill you if you’re not careful. And don’t get me started on the amount of Zubat being too damn high!) Considering everything I’ve been through in the last several weeks, it’s a nice escape. I don’t have to think too much, I don’t have to plan too much–since I’m trying to use Pokemon I’ve never used before–and it’s familiar enough to keep my attention, as the stories on all three are similar. It’s probably worked a bit better than most drugs I might take.

Picking up my 3DS has become a bit cathartic; just holding it in my hands is calming. It’s an escape from my life, which I’ve needed.

I’d post more about it and how I’m looking forward to Pokemon Moon and that sort of thing but I can’t. I’m going to see if I can pull off the Mew glitch and get a low level Mew for my team. Be back in fifteen; no calls please.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Pokemon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

