BotCon: Day Zero

Even though yesterday wasn’t an official convention day, I had to up early. I was on the Wednesday tour and had to meet with the rest of the group in the hotel lobby. Even though I was still tired from the road trip to get here, I was up when Prime told me he was heading downstairs.

When I arrived at the lobby, I was the first one there; no one else was waiting. After a few moments alone, a few more group members appeared and after a bit of waiting, we loaded up and were on our way.

Our first stop was Churchill Downs, home to the Kentucky Derby. We got there early enough to have breakfast at a small restaurant that was on the premises and watch some of the horses go through their paces. It was an amazing site, watching these Thoroughbreds as they galloped down the track. When we were finished with our food, we were able to get outside and get by the fences near the back of the track for a better look. Not only did we watch the horses, we had one that watched us as it trotted by and we also got an up close and personal look at the gates used for the Derby.

Those things are extremely narrow. No wonder some of the horses seem a bit skittish of them. I barely had room to fit in there myself.

Once we had seen the morning workouts, we were taken up to the Derby museum where we got to peruse the exhibits and watch a showing of The Greatest Race. We also managed to slip outside and see one of the resident horses after spending some time in the gift shop. Afterwards, we boarded the bus and headed out to lunch.

We were dropped at a nearby White Castle but I decided to eschew that choice and went with the local Frisch’s Big Boy since I had never dined there. The food was good as was the service. Once lunch was over, we were back on the bus and heading to the Jim Beam distillery.

Our tour there took about an hour and a half and we were able to see the various steps taken in the bourbon distilling process. We capped that off with a bourbon tasting–we were allowed to keep the shot glass–and hit the gift shop before heading to the Evan Williams distillery.

Unlike the Jim Beam tour, this one was situated in the city and not on the outskirts, as it seems the first Evan Williams distillery was built in town. On this tour, we started with the tasting first and then took the tour, learning a bit more about adult beverages along the way. When we were done, we were allowed to peruse the gift shop then we could walk back to the Galt House hotel; it was only  a few blocks away.

Once I got back to the hotel, I caught up with Prime and we hung out with our friends Shawn and Stogie for a bit before splitting up; they had to work while we had to get our pre-reg items at 8:30. So Prime and I headed back to our room, relaxed for a bit then headed down and got our stuff. We got some dinner and we’ve been relaxing ever since.

Tomorrow I’m on another tour, which means I have to wrap this up to get some sleep. Until next time!

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in BotCon, Transformers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

