Things I Learned Attending BotCon

Part one of who knows how many at this point.

-Wally Burr learned how to boat in Wisconsin. No joke. (2013)

-The Dobson brothers are cool (2005)

-Come for the convention, stay for the friends. (1999)

-Peter Cullen thought it was funny that I referred to my camera as a female. A persnickety female. (2004)

-Dan Gilvezan is awesome. ‘Nuff said. (2004)

-Weird Al is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. (2009)

-Steve Blum is an amazing guy and I should know: he hugged me! (2011)

-Blades from Rescue Bots has a lot of fangirls. (2011)

-Scott McNeil is crazy but it’s a good kind of crazy. (2001)

-Orlando is the world’s biggest tourist trap and Disney likes to drain people of every last cent they may possess, especially when it comes to meals. But trying to cross the street in Florida means you will probably die so what you gonna do? (2010)

-San Diego has a huge convention center but because of SDCC, it ain’t huge enough. (2013)

-Baseball + BotCon = Well of All Sparks on Earth. (2015)

-No one in Texas has the faintest idea how to freaking drive properly. (2012)

-Maurice LaMarche will spare me if his alter ego of the Brain finally does take over the world. (2013)

-All Bumblebee ever did in the G1 cartoon was fall into crevasse after crevasse. (2004)

-Want to make my knees buckle? Just have Peter Cullen squeeze my arm. (2009)

-Or have Dan Gilvezan kiss me. (2004)

-John Moschitta is the best auctioneer in the known multiverse for obvious reasons. (2015)

-It’s tons of fun to talk politics with none other than the voice of Grimlock while you’re line grabbing food buffet-style. (2016)

-Rhode Island is lovely in the summer. (2007)

-Cincinnati however, is a bit of a freaking dump. (2008)

-As is Durham. (2001)

-I have learned that I absolutely love being in California. (2004, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014)

-I’m also rather fond of Indiana as well. (2000, 2002)

-I’m no longer a fan of collector plates. Just. Don’t. Ask. (2003)

-Also a little leery of Italian restaurants in the Chicago area. (2003)

-Buster Jones is one snazzy dresser. (2012)

-We may never know which name came first: Goldbug or Bumblebee. But I owe Bob Budiansky a huge debt of gratitude for the creation of my favorite Autobot. And I told him as much. (2010)

-Ernie Hudson knows a thing or two about crossing the streams. And about something strange in people’s neighborhoods. (2011)

-Garry Chalk is cool. Just sayin’. (2001)

-It might cost you to book the flight, grab the con exclusive toys and hunt for deals in the Dealer Room but the memories–and the friendships you make–are absolutely priceless. And you don’t have to clear out any of your suitcases to fit them all in! (1999 – 2016)

And lastly:

-It’s not about the toys. It’s about family. (1999 – 2016)

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in BotCon, Transformers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I Learned Attending BotCon

  1. devicedude says:

    How could you have forgotten being on Transformers: The Ride at Universal Studios Hollywood in 2014? As well as the Jurassic Park ride that day? 🙂

    ~daiAtlas

    Like

Leave a Reply

