BotCon: Past, Present and…?

Yesterday, I touched on the fact that Hasbro has applied for the trademark of “HasCon”. It’s apparently supposed to cover conventions, fan clubs and gatherings for entertainment purposes.

You read that right: this is covering conventions. I have no idea what to think about this.

Now, if this truly is the successor to BotCon, I honestly hope that this will succeed. I don’t want this to fail. But if this an amalgamation of all of Hasbro’s different franchises, I don’t see it succeeding. I can’t see bronies attending a convention that is being patronized by Transfans or GI Joe collectors. There doesn’t seem to be a lot of crossover between fandoms; a combined convention doesn’t seem like a good fit.

However, that fear could be unfounded. This may not be the name of a Hasbro-backed toy convention at all. This simply could be a trade show that features all of Hasbro’s well-known properties. But we don’t know. None of us do.

I don’t want to sit here and start screaming, “The sky is falling!” I want to be optimistic about this so I’m looking at this as positively as possible. If this is the next convention we get after BotCon, I’m honestly hoping that this will do well. I want to have someplace that I have to be next year, a place where I can get autographs from voice actors and chat with fellow Transfans about the latest toys or the newest animated series. I want this to happen, I want something to fill the void that has now been left by BotCon. I just hope that HasCon will be that something. Let it be successful, whatever it may be.

As of right now, I have two Con tee shirts drip drying on a door behind me. Already I’m preparing as though I have somewhere to be next year. Because I’m looking at this in a similar fashion as Simon Furman: it never really ends, does it? We’ll just have to wait and see.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in BotCon, Nerd, Transformers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

