Unexpecting the Expected

Yesterday, I checked the Transformer tee shirts that were hanging over the door in the den. They were dry, so I took them down, folded them up and took them upstairs. Once they had been put away, I dug through my suitcase and pulled free a second pair of shirts; these were carried to the kitchen where they too, were hand washed in kitchen sink then hung on the door in the den to dry. As of right now, they’re still a bit damp; it’ll be at least another day before I can take them down and fold them in order to tuck them away for use next year.

If next year happens, that is. I honestly hope it does. I need that little bit of sunlight so badly, especially after today.

When I got in to work today, I was duly informed by the opener Robbie that Ethan had called in yesterday and quit. He gave no two week notice at all. He simply called up the store and said he was done. To be quite honest, I’m not completely surprised by this; Ethan had been called in early in order to clean and assemble the yogurt machine since the closer couldn’t properly clean it the night before. So we’ve lost someone else in the Food Court. When the store first opened, we had eleven people. We are now down to six.

Even worse? We may be losing Robbie in the next few weeks; he’s transferring over to part time merchandising. He has said that he’d be able to help us in the afternoon and evening but he wouldn’t be available for the mornings. Then there’s the fear that Tina may quit; she’s been so stressed out lately that quitting is all she’s talked about. No one there is happy and even Prime is urging me to get out of the Food Court, as it is total chaos in there. I’m not happy, my coworkers aren’t happy and I fear that we’ll have more people either transferring out or quitting.

My schedule will probably be a mess for the next few weeks. I have no idea if I’ll be stuck opening or closing over the next several days. (Really hoping it’s going to be closings, as I’m far better at them.) I have no idea no clue as to whether or not I’ll be getting two days off in a row anytime soon.

In other words, I really don’t have a bright spot. I need one right now but there is none.

The only thing I can do is wash my convention laundry and pack my suitcase. If I’m lucky, I’ll have somewhere to go next year and I’ll be able to forget that days like this ever happened in the first place.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

