It’s Not “Too Soon”

We all know what happened in Orlando. We all know about the shooting. There are those who are saying that it’s “too soon” to talk about this, to call for gun control, or to discuss what may have happened.

It is not “too soon”.

In August of 2013, I had to deal with a shooting at my workplace. I am still traumatized. I probably will be for the rest of my life in some way, shape or form. The gun used in that shooting was legally obtained, as was the shooter’s concealed carry permit. That day in August was my “Enough!” moment; I got fed up hearing that “legal guns aren’t the problem” and that “good guys with guns will stop the bad guys with guns”.

The shooter at my store was a “good person”. The gun was legal. Everything was legal until the moment that weapon was used in an illegal fashion.

It is not too soon to start talking about this. We should have had this conversation years ago, when it was Sandy Hook or Columbine or any of the number of mass shootings that have happened in the United States. If anything, this is long past due, something that should have been discussed and agreed upon before we even got to this point.

It is not too soon. It was never too soon. I only hope that right now, it isn’t too late.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Bitter Truths, LGBTQ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Not “Too Soon”

  1. devicedude says:

    It saddens me to says that Americans care more about guns than they care about children. 😦

    ~daiAtlas

    Like

Leave a Reply

