Three Stories, Three Reasons I Want to Quit the World

Calvin_GrownUps

All of these come from The Friendly Atheist and all three are maddening enough to make you want to scream. So consider this your warning: Tread very lightly when you read these.

Story number one: In Georgia, a pair of parents let their ten week old infant die of starvation due to their “beliefs”. Directly from the article:

Landell, 26, a now-former Publix supermarket worker, isn’t a believer in doctors or medicine and held to the theory that evil took his little girl’s life, according to Hamrick.

On her last day, March 25, he told police he found her in trouble, her skin turned grey and blue. He said he lifted her from the crib and tried to give her a bottle. He told his wife, 25-year-old Lauren Fristed, to leave the room because of her “negative energy,” and he prayed, [detective Charles] Hamrick said.

As if that isn’t horrible enough, the child’s mother couldn’t go over her husband’s head and take the baby to a doctor. Why? Read on:

Faith prevented her from pressing it.

“She told me on several occasions that she obeys her husband,” Hamrick said, “that that’s what the Bible says.”

It wasn’t evil that let this child die. It was ignorance and stupidity. Thankfully, these two are actually facing some consequences for their non-actions, as Georgia doesn’t have any religious exemptions for child murder. If this had been in another state, it might be a different story. (Idaho comes to mind.)

Story number two: It’s not just young children who are harmed by this sort of thing. A woman in Oklahoma used a crucifix to murder her “possessed” adult daughter. Seriously. The victim was found with severe traumatic injuries around her head and face and a crucifix on her chest. According to the victim’s mother, she was “possessed by the devil”.

Making a terrible story even worse is the fact that the body was discovered by the victim’s former significant other, whom was nearly harmed by the mother. I just can’t even comprehend this. On so many levels, I cannot understand this at all.

Two of these stories are bad enough. Yet, here’s number three: Namely, a mother in Indiana using the RFRA to justify beating her 7-year-old son. Because beating a child with a coat-hanger will totally save his soul. Or something. Oh and do yourself a favor if you hit the Indianapolis Star story: Do not go near the comments. There are far too many people trying to justify this or compare it to the “horror” of abortion. I’m not even kidding here. Because beating a child is a good idea. You know, since spanking won’t actually “hurt” them. And won’t someone please think of the poor unborn children?! (I can’t vomit enough.)

All I can say is this: If your “god” is telling you that it is perfectly okay to abuse or kill your child, your “god” has problems and needs therapy. Immediately if not fucking sooner. I don’t care how devout you might be, I think it would be pretty safe to say, “You know what, god? You can go fuck yourself. I’m not harming my child because I love him/her. However, I’m not too sure if I like YOU at the moment.”

Screw this. If anyone needs me, I’ll be on YouTube, looking for some cute kitten videos. You know, as brain bleach. Because kittens make everything better.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in abuse, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

