End of Summer

It’s the end of the summer
It’s the end of it all
Those days are gone, it’s over now we’re moving on

A little music first, just to set the mood:

Across the street, one of the trees now spots a small patch of reddish-orange leaves on its upper branches. As I sit on the bus and watch the scenery pass me by, I’ve noticed more and more trees freckled with tiny but insistent parcels of yellowing leaves. It’s September in Wisconsin and it’s starting to show.

On Wednesday evening, Prime and I, with an umbrella in our hands, braved the drizzly weather to take in the first game of the Timber Rattlers post season series. Fox Cities Stadium was mostly empty, due to the weather. If the crowd reached over a thousand, I would honestly be surprised. The gloomy weather would later match my mood, as the Timber Rattlers lost to Cedar Rapids by a score of 11 to 3. The other two games would take place in Cedar Rapids.

Last night was the second game in the playoff series. It also happened to be the last game of the TRats season, as Cedar Rapids won it again. The best of three series is over now; Cedar Rapids advances and the Timber Rattlers season has now closed. Minor League baseball is over in my neighborhood. I’m more than a little upset about this.

To me, that’s the final hurrah of summer. When the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers season comes to a close, the summer is done. The only thing I have left to look forward to is the occasional Brewers game, which seems distant and far away, a dim light on a remote shore.

It’s the end of the 2016 season for the Timber Rattlers. I have the 2017 season ahead of me. But the wait for that is indeterminable, a long number of weeks of cooling temperatures, changing leaves and eventually, glittering white landscapes cloaked in snow. Sure, I have an exact date, due in no small part to the schedule magnets that adorn my fridge but it seems so far away. All the good and wonderful things about summer can be summed up in a baseball game; waiting to experience that again is just disheartening.

Here’s hoping I can hold out until January and Brewers On Deck. I’ll be able to get autographs and get hyped for the new season. Until then, it’s going to be a long, cold winter.

It’s the end of the summer
But we’ll see it all again
So hold on ’till this moment ’till then
It’s the end of the summer…

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Life in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

