Morning Coffee: Volume Thirteen

morning_coffeeCurrent cup: Cameron’s Chocolate Caramel Brownie.

It’s time for another Morning Coffee post, where I slap a few thoughts together and put them up on display. Enjoy!

-I’m sure you’ve seen all those smarmy commercials from Walmart claiming that they’re paying their workers better wages and giving them more training and all that “feel good” sort of stuff. Yeah, bear that in mind when you read that Walmart is cutting 7,000 jobs in its stores. Even worse? These were long term, higher paid employees. So much for Walmart actually caring about their associates. Trust me when I say that they do not. (I was a cashier at Walmart for years and the abuse there would make your stomach churn. It was the reason I started blogging over ten years ago; it was a way to deal with the situation.)

-At the end of this month, Marvel Avengers Alliance, the free-to-play Facebook game, will be ending its four year run. There are a lot of upset players, for obvious reasons. I’m upset as well, as I  played part time. I feel worse for Prime, however. He had a complete collection of characters and busted his tail during every Player versus Player tourney to get the latest one. MAA has been Prime’s main stress-reliever for the last several years and I can’t help but wonder what might fill the oncoming void. On the plus side, I probably won’t be spending so much time on Facebook so I can get back to posting on Bulbagarden and here.

-The launch has been delayed, as Star Trek: Discovery will debut in May of 2017. I say, take as much time as you need, guys. I’m patient and I want to see something that will blow me away.

-We’ve gotten so much Pokemon Sun and Moon info it is crazy. No gyms, Ultra Beasts, the Aether Foundation, Zygarde, Alolan Forms… Alola is going to be packed. I just hope we have some new Megas–namely for Gen V Pokemon–in the mix. If we do, then the game might be damn near perfect.

-Speaking of Pokemon, I’ve gotten my seventh badge in Yellow and I’m working on my third in Blue. I’m planning on completing Yellow first then I’ll work on Blue. Once Blue is done, I’ll start on Red. I also plan on pulling the Mew glitch in Red and boxing it, so I can have a spare. I just hope that glitch Mews can be transferred to Sun and Moon. (Hey, a level seven Mew on my team? Why the slag not? It’ll go great with my shiny Golett and 6IV female Pawniard.)

-In California, a student protested the Pledge of Allegiance and lowered her grade in retaliation. Here’s my take on this: I dealt with a teacher doing something similar when I was in fifth grade. In my case, I happened to be sick and when I came back to school, I “interrupted” my reading class teacher, asking her about my misplaced work book. She tore me a new one in class then dropped my grade to a C+, when I never made below an A- in the class. Me, I think teachers who do this should be fired immediately. That sort of petty bullshit does not belong in a classroom, no matter the situation.

-In happier news, the Brewers have released their 2017 schedule. I have even more to look forward to, not just the upcoming Timber Rattlers season.

And that does it for this edition. Tune in next time where I’ll pound the keyboard senselessly and post the results. Until next time!

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Morning Coffee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

