(Obligatory Work Related Post)

It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned anything about my job. Although this isn’t the main purpose of this blog, I thought it needed to be addressed.

I’ve been with Costco for over a year now and in that time, we’ve lost half of the people who started with me. So many of the employees that I did the Marketing thing with are gone. We have been hiring but we are still under-staffed; Bakery has been complaining that they are about four hours behind schedule most days due to lack of help. The Front End has to ask Membership for extra help during rushes. Then there’s Food Court, where I started.

Food Court hired four people a couple of months ago and two left. So two more were hired and they left. Now it seems that two more people are leaving the Food Court; one is a recent hire who took a full time position at a different store and the other is someone who was hired in the Food Court at the same time I was. She has been trying to get out for a long while, due to the stress. She’s now gotten a part time Cashiering position. The manager of the Food Court doesn’t know about either one of these promotions. I have no idea how he will react when he does.

With the loss of these two employees, the Food Court will only have minimal staffing. Making matter worse is the full time Food Court employee is on vacation and won’t be back for about a week. The Food Court will need to pull people from the Front End–I’ll probably be one of them–in order to help out. But as I’ve said, Front End is understaffed so they will have to pull from other departments in order to cover for this.

Yeah. This is bad. This is beyond bad. And I don’t see things getting better any time soon.

I don’t know what to think right now. I had heard a lot of good things about Costco, including a low turn-over rate but this is blowing that idea out of the water. I keep telling myself that things will get better but some days, I’m just not so sure.

Inspirational_Quotes_and_Shit

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

