Changes

The snow is starting to recede and the weather is trying desperately to get warmer. The sun is setting at a later time each day. Winter is slowly ending and spring is upon us. Things are changing. But isn’t the weather that happens to be changing. Things are changing at my store as well. Some are good, while others, I’m still trying to process.

In the good news, the manager of Food Court will be the new manager of Hardlines. He’s out of Food Court, which makes me pretty happy. He won’t have to deal with the stress of Food Court, like the constant turn over. The downside is I have no idea who might be the new manager. The rumor is that it will be a new hire or someone who has transferred to our store.

I feel for whoever it might be. Food Court is a tough position; it’s hard just on the clerks, so I can’t imagine the amount of stress that a manager would face. There were days I left the Food Court, wanting to cry and all I did was serve members, clean the area and occasionally make some of the food. This is not a joke. (I wasn’t the only one; other co-workers admitted that they walked into the Food Court with a sense of dread. No one was sure what disaster we would be facing.)

Another of our managers has taken a position at Bellevue. It’s a step up for her and I’m glad she’s taking it but I am sad to see her go. She was one of the Front End Supervisors who helped train me on Member Service and she was incredibly nice to me, so I’ll miss her.

Then we have the manager of Deli. She’s going to a store in Atlanta, Georgia.

On one hand, I’m sad she’s leaving, as she started treating me with some decency when I was transferred out of Food Court. On the other, she was the same manager who decided to tear me a new one in front of a group of members last year. I don’t mind getting chewed out, as long as it isn’t in public. When it’s in public, I don’t appreciate it. So like I said, I don’t know what to make of this news. I really have a lot of mixed feelings on the last one.

But in the end, this is retail. This sort of thing is pretty common; I’ve seen it before and this won’t be the last.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Life in General, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes

  1. DeviceDude says:

    Rehell…

    ~daiAtlas

    Like

Leave a Reply

