Complacency

You might have noticed that I’ve been blogging a lot more lately. There’s a reason for that and it comes from this little diatribe (Warning: adult language involved):


Noah really does hit it home, in more ways than one. I freely admit, I’m just as responsible as anyone else for what happened in November.

Now, before you say, “But you voted for Hillary!” hear me out. I have a blog. I’ve had one for years. Not just on this platform, either. And during the years that Obama was in the White House, I really didn’t post a lot of political items. I got rather complacent; things were fine and in my mind, they would stay that way. I honestly believed that we wouldn’t have to worry about Grand Nagus Trump actually winning the election. The American people wouldn’t let someone that unqualified in, right?

Wrong. So very, very wrong. And I did little to nothing to stop it. I could have made a few posts on how Trump was lying, or how his campaign seemed far too cozy with Putin. Instead, I decided to blog about things such as Pokémon and work and post openings to Saturday morning cartoons. Sure, it may have been fun but it didn’t convince anyone to possibly change their vote.

It’s as if I had completely forgotten the administration of George W. Bush, of the search for weapons of mass destruction that didn’t exist, of the rolling blackouts in California and the way we were told that high energy consumption was just an American way of life. It’s as if I’d forgotten about a woman in Georgia who tried to ban Harry Potter or the fact that there were politicians trying to chip away at Roe v. Wade. It’s as if I believed that the good times wouldn’t end and things wouldn’t change.

So now, I’m catching up. I’m doing what little I can to possibly turn the tide. Yes, it’s overwhelming at times and yes, the amount of stupid makes me want to scream but I keep going. I have to. If I don’t, I’ll be just as guilty of complacency as I was before. I won’t have that happen again.

Only this time, there will be humor sprinkled about. And cat vids. Because cat vids do help. Trust me on that. And it seems with the way things are going for the next four years, we’re going to need all the cat vids we can get.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Complacency

  1. DeviceDude says:

    Don’t feel bad Silverwynde. I wish I could wipe it out from my history but I can’t…back in 2010 I was watching Trump’s The Apprentice on TV. Up until that time I only followed a smattering of Trump from news reports such as his business dealings or his divorces or his hobnobbing with celebrities and politicians.

    In the early 2010’s is when Trump turned into a real asshole from the way he questioned President Obama’s legitimacy.I dropped The Apprentice like a bad ex.I naïvely believed most Americans would know better than to elect a fanatic as this nation’s history shows. I was wrong. I’m just glad me and millions of other Americans not once fell for trump’s lies, unlike many who now regret voting for him.

    However long this presidency will last, let’s maintain our sanity buy concentrating on the things we love as well as being part of the Resistance. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

