Things Like This Make Me Want to Quit the World

I found this via Friendly Athiest. Yes, it is just as bad as you think: this child was diagnosed with diabetes at the age of three. Rather than finding the boy a competent doctor, his parents left his care in God’s hands.

At the age of fifteen, the child died. He weighed 37 pounds.

I just don’t have any words for this, I am that sickened. I cannot understand how any parent–any human being, for that matter–could allow this to happen. Diabetes is a treatable illness; my great-grandmother lived well into her 70s and she was diabetic. It’s a manageable condition. This child could have lived a long life and yet…

I can’t go on. There is nothing more for me to say. At least his parents are facing consequences for their actions. But it seems like too little, too late.

enough_internet_today

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in abuse, Family Matters, Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things Like This Make Me Want to Quit the World

  1. DeviceDude says:

    The same goes for all these anti-vaxxers…they ignore the horror of how diseases like polio and measles used to be. I’m glad California has made it mandatory that children attending public schools must be vaccinated. Hell, even Mississippi, a Southern state, has strict guidelines on that – https://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/05/us/mississippi-a-leader-on-vaccination-rates-stands-by-strict-rules.html

    ~daiAtlas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silverwynde says:

    Oh yes, the anti-vaxxers. They drive me crazy as well. And there are so many on Facebook that it makes me want to cry. Or scream. Or both. =/

    Like

Leave a Reply

