And Today in First World Problems

I found this lovely piece via Friendly Atheist and all I can say it wow. Just wow. This is what has One Million Moms so upset? Really? There are starving children in other countries. Hell, there are starving children in this country but nope! Forget about all of that! We saw a pair of same sex characters kissing and that’s more important!

I can’t facepalm hard enough. If I do, I might get a concussion and I really don’t want to miss work.

I hate to break it to this group, but Disney’s done this sort of thing before. Back in 1988, Disney released a live action/animated film that featured not only a same sex kiss, but one that was inter-species! Horrifying! I have the evidence: view it after the break… if you dare!


roger_rabbit_kissing_eddie_valiant
You didn’t see that one coming, did you? Hey, any excuse for a Roger Rabbit shout out; I love that movie.

Now, One Million Moms might–and I put massive emphasis on the word might–let this one pass, as it was played for laughs. It wasn’t “serious”. But the kiss in question on Star vs. The Forces of Evil was. The characters in question were treated like human beings. That’s probably why One Million Moms is so upset abut this: instead of showing that gays are icky, Disney portrayed them as people. Here’s their take on it:

This is the last place parents would expect their children to be confronted with content regarding sexual orientation. Issues of this nature are being introduced too early and too soon, and it is becoming extremely common and unnecessary.

I hate to break it to you guys, but kids are exposed to different sexual orientations on a daily basis. Gay people exist in the real world; I’ve seen two young men holding hands as they shopped in my local Walmart. This was in public, in full view of the other shoppers. And yes, there were young children in that building so ten to one, they saw this couple. Gay people are real and they exist in our corporeal world. I think that the group needs to be reminded about that salient fact. Stop pretending otherwise.

But honestly, if this is the worst thing out there that they can find, their lives must be perfect.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different, LGBTQ, Sex And Gender Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

