A Minor Work Update

Last weekend, I took a few moments and walked around my old Walmart. Imagine my surprise when I saw Laurie, who used to work with me in Member Service. She was now wearing a navy smock and taking a customer’s return at the Service Desk.

It would appear that she left my current store and took a position at my old store. I don’t really know what to think of that.

I worked for Walmart for years; they do everything in their power to make sure you don’t make a decent wage. Granted, she was probably a part timer while she was working Member Service but the starting pay would have been a lot better. I can’t help feeling a little confused as to why she’d want to take a job at Walmart, considering their “stellar” reputation.

In other news, the manager who was taking Hardlines at my store? He’s actually going to take the management position in Deli. His thought process behind this? He’s worked in there before but doesn’t have management experience. He wants to get some management experience under his belt, as he hopes to return to his original store in Chicago.

I’m actually more than a little upset hearing that he might leave. This is the same manager that gave me such grief when I first started with the company, now he’s a friend. I don’t want to see him go.

But at least he’s out of Food Court. That’s a good thing.

Our new Food Court manager still hasn’t started yet. Or at the very least, I’ve yet to meet her if she has. I’ve been hearing that she has a very “strong” personality. She’ll need it, as Tyler is now out of the Food Court–he had been the one and only full timer in the place–and the area is in utter disarray. Tina and Vincent, who transferred out of the Food Court have been put back in for the next few weeks as a stopgap.

I have no idea why Tyler was transferred elsewhere. All I know is he was the main opener and nearly every single day, the Food Court was short on items. I’m thinking that this was probably a factor.

I only hope that the new manager doesn’t find out that I have Food Court experience. I just got out of there; I don’t want to get dragged back in, kicking and screaming. I want to keep what little of my sanity I have left.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

