Reflections

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not new to this whole blogging thing. I’ve actually been on the blogosphere since June 2005. I have been blogging for approximately the last twelve years.

When I started my first blog, it was for one reason and one reason only: I needed a place to vent. At the time, I was working as a cashier at a local Walmart and I was dealing with breathtaking idiocy on a daily basis. I hated my job, I hated my supervisors, I hated my managers, I hated everything. However, I could only rant and rave to my poor husband for so long before he would snap, so on the day after my birthday I founded a little blog that was simply meant to be a sounding board. Think along the lines of “This Space for Rant” or something similar.

I had that blog for ten years before it went defunct. I still have it; I just don’t post there. I have my reasons. But while I was posting there, I’d manage to pound out only a few posts per month. At the height of my blogging there, I was able to make 14 posts in one month. I spent the rest of my time doing other things. I didn’t take it seriously; if anything, the blog was simply a place where I sometimes posted a rant and called it good. It took me two and a half years to reach 300 posts there.

Fast forward to today. You are reading post number three hundred on Iacon East. Let that sink in a moment.

I’ve gone back and read a few of my old posts on that blog. They’re decent but nothing spectacular. Basically, they’re simple angry rants about things that were going on at the time, whether it was political, social or work related. At the heart of it, that blog was basically my angry phase, terrible similes and all.

Now, there is something to be said about the angry rant: it has its place. Sometimes, the only way to deal with something is an angry, curse-ladened screed. Sometimes, you have to let yourself off the hook and let it go, let the world know that you are pissed and you are not taking it anymore.

However, I’ve noticed that as the years passed, my writing has changed. I have gotten a bit more introspective. Instead of pitching out a word salad that says “Fuck you!”, I’ll try and get a few facts behind why I’m taking this person’s opinion to task, why they happen to be wrong. In other words, it’s a “Fuck you!” with an air of truth. But that’s not the only thing that has changed.

I’ve become a lot more introspective of myself.

When I started Iacon East, I was doing it out of a different frustration. I had a voice on my previous blog but it was being shouted down, silenced. Now, I wanted to use that voice but I was afraid to do so, fearing that I’d have to deal with someone who was quick to judge me. So when I made my first post here on July 8th, 2015, it was a bit of an act of defiance. I was going to go on. I was going to re-find my voice. I was going to say things that would possibly piss some people off but that didn’t matter. I was going to finally speak the truth, as I had been doing since 2005.

I don’t know where this will lead. I don’t know what lies in store for the future, considering this administration and all it has done. I don’t know how many angry rants I’ll be posting–there will be some, I’m certain–and I don’t know how many pieces I’ll write dealing with my childhood. I know they’ll be there; I’m just not sure how many or often.

What I do know is this: I’ll be here, making post number 500, 750, 1000 and beyond. I’ll be here, posting silly Transformers related macros and reaction gifs, just because. I’ll be here, posting kitten videos because Primus knows, we will certain need them. In other words, I’ll be here, making up for lost time.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections

  1. DeviceDude says:

    I hope this blog brings you the catharsis you need. 🙂

    ~daiAtlas

    Like

Leave a Reply

