Cancelling the Updating Game

Earlier this month, Prime tried to download and install Windows updates on our laptop. Things… did not go well.

It seems poor Alexa-1 can’t handle the new updates. She’s become obsolete; not just her but her version of Windows is totally outdated. We’re running Vista as she can’t handle anything higher than that.

It’s time to get another laptop, I’m sad to say. Not that Alexa is going anywhere anytime soon. I’ll still keep her, as she runs perfectly fine and does everything that I need. But Prime is thinking of getting a laptop of his own, one that is better equipped to run Flash and things like it. We have a pretty decent tax return coming so part of it will probably go to that. (I’ve also dropped hints that he might want to get a secondary laptop, in case Alexa does crash for good and all. I’ll need something to keep blogging!)

I knew this day was coming. I’ve known it was coming for a long time. But it still sucks. I’ve had Alexa for so long; it’s like she’s part of the family now. No, she may not be going anywhere right now but the future doesn’t look good.

The Updating Game is over for right now. That actually makes me more than a little sad.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

