A Real Toyland Hero

Stanley Weston died on May 1st at the age of 84.

You may not know the name, but you know his work: he invented GI Joe. Without him, we would have no Diaclone line, no Star Wars figures, no Micronauts, no Transformers. The toy department of your local Walmart would be pretty empty without him.

I owe a lot of my childhood memories to Mr. Weston. As a young girl, I was more inclined to grab a Luke Skywalker or Darth Vader over a Barbie. My tastes in toys ran masculine. What I played with was the direct or indirect progeny of Mr. Weston: boy’s action figures. Most of the happy memories of my childhood were connected to these toys in some way. Mr. Weston was a huge but unknown influence on me; I wish I had the chance to tell him what his creation and what it inspired meant, not just to me but to thousands of children.

I can’t do that now. However, I can do it here. Thank you, Stanley Weston. Thank you for all that you accomplished. I and a lot of others enjoyed and appreciated your work.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Grief, Nerd, Transformers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

