Finally!

I’ve only been waiting for something like this since I was nine years old: Netflix is making a prequel to the Dark Crystal. From the article:

Good news for fans of Gelflings, Skeksis, and Mystics: Netflix has just announced a prequel series for Jim Henson’s cult fantasy classic The Dark Crystal. The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance returns us to the troubled world of the 1982 animatronic-puppetry film, to a time when the Skeksis and the Mystics were still bitter enemies and the Gelfling race was caught in the middle.

Now, I dimly remember hearing of rumors of a sequel some years ago but that will apparently be a comic book adaption and not a film. So hearing about this is music to my ears.

I’ll go ahead and admit it: at first glance, the original film scared me stupid. I was a kid when it was first released and I wasn’t the only kid freaked out by what I saw. This is very well known Nightmare Fuel. (Warning: TV Tropes page! If you don’t want to waste the next six hours of your life, you may not want to click that link.) It’s more than a little infamous in that regard. What changed? I caught a “making of” special on TV. I was sunned at what I saw; the Geflings looked like dolls, like something that would have been sitting on my bed.

Well, the fear went out the window at that point and I was able to watch the movie. It was awesome, probably the most awesome movie I had seen in my short life. I think if I could have lived on that planet, I would have. It’s easily one of the best but most underrated films that Henson has ever made; if you have a chance, watch it.

Of course, this new series might be the only excuse you need in that regard. I myself can barely wait!

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Nerd and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

