Decisions, Decisions

Last week, Prime and I hit a couple of Brewers games. As my usual, I took my camera. I loaded her with new batteries, set the date and time, then slipped my camera into one of my bags. When I got to Milwaukee, I took out my camera, turned her on and was greeted by this message: “Reset date and time.”

It seems that somehow, my camera “forgot” that she had brand new batteries installed and needed to have the date and time readjusted. It didn’t take long to fix but it was annoying.

It looks as though my camera is on her last. She shouldn’t be doing this but she is. She also did it a couple of times at the stadium.

To be quite honest, I shouldn’t be surprised; she’s around 11 or 12 years old. I was working at Walmart at the time and I used an extra ten percent voucher on the sale. I believe I got her in 2005 after my last film camera finally gave up the ghost. She’s been around for a while and made multiple trips to BotCon. For a digital camera, she’s been around for awhile. I’ve gotten my money’s worth out of her; she’s been quite the faithful companion for the last decade plus. I’m really surprised that she lasted this long. That’s not a joke. Now, as of late, I’ve been taking the time to look at digital cameras; I’m already looking for a possible replacement. However, I’m not committing to anything, as I’m still not sure whether or not I may upgrade to a smartphone.

Which leads me to the burning question: Digital camera or smartphone? I’m not going to get both, as that would be counterproductive but I will be getting one of them. I’m just wondering which would be a better use of money.

Both have advantages and disadvantages. I may not have the ability to zoom in on a subject with a smartphone. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to take decent videos with a smartphone. But I won’t have to worry about packing another piece of equipment in my bags when I’m getting ready for the convention.

Since HasCon is still months away, it’s not a question that needs to be answered immediately. But it still bears some thought.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different, Baseball, BotCon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

