June Gloom

Current song stuck in my head: 1979 by the Smashing Pumpkins.

Currently, the sky is a mix of sun and clouds; it’s a bit cooler right now and more than a bit gloomy. In other words, it’s perfect Monday weather. It’s a good day to go back to work, to be quite honest.

This weekend we had a Road Show at my Costco; a Road Show is an item we don’t usually get and it’s only in our store for a few days. This weekend it was Kentucky Woods Bourbon Barrel cake. There were samples on the sales floor as well a pair of cakes in the breakroom, so that the rest of us who were working could have a sample. On my first break, I had a small piece; it lived up to its name. It tasted like a shot of bourbon, without the throat warming “Kentucky hug”.

In other words, it tasted familiar. It tasted like a BotCon past.

On June 21st, Transformers: the Last Knight will be released to theatres. For all intents and purposes, I should be posting about how I’m leaving for BotCon, how my hubby is gearing up to help with the Customization class, or how I’m going on a tour of the convention city. I should be posting about what I’m going to do, who I’m going to meet, which friends I’ll see.

Right now, I’m not. I can’t. I won’t be able to make a post like that for three months. And it is killing me.

HASCON is in September, which feels like a world away. Making it worse is the fact that this is a movie year; most movie years we have the convention just before the film’s release date. It gave us some momentum before the movie’s release. “Striking while the iron was hot” didn’t even begin to describe it.

By the time I’ll be posting about a convention, The Last Knight will probably be on home media. It will be a memory. To me, it feels like a lost opportunity.

Prime’s ambivalent at best when it comes to HASCON. We haven’t gotten our tickets yet and as he put it, “It just doesn’t sound fun.” The sad thing is, I agree with him. On one hand, I want to go. On the other, after reading the different restrictions, I’m not so sanguine about this. That troubles me. Maybe it shouldn’t, but it does.

I remember how there was some nervousness back in 2004/2005 when Fun Pub took over. There were some complaints. But I don’t remember feeling a sense of worry or dread over this. I was cautiously optimistic about everything. Right now, I’m feeling rather disquieted. And I don’t like it.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different, Bitter Truths, BotCon, Grief and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

