Another HASCON Update

We’ve finally gotten another update on HASCON and this one deals strictly with Transformers. There isn’t a lot of information but at least we now know that there will be an exclusive. We know there will be reveals. If you want the rest, you can watch the video below.

Also, I found this little tidbit from Hasbro in the comments of the post in question:

HASCON Guests will sign your HASCON Program Guide and only officially licensed DVDs, comics, toys and other collectibles, but they will not sign bootleg merchandise. Please bring only one item to be signed during each autograph session and understand that the HASCON Guests may or may not pose for photographs with the fans.

Someone asked about artwork and that is considered okay, which is good to know. At least I won’t be stuck with a Rarity figure as the only option when I’m in line to get Ms. Weseluck’s autograph. I’m happy about that, at least. As for the rest, I’m still up in the air about it all.

We know there will be reveals. That’s great. But will those be worth the time and money to attend? We’ll be able to see Peter Cullen, Frank Welker and Stan Bush. I’m up for that but I don’t know if other fans are. And Hasbro seems to be getting slaughtered in the comments on Facebook; not a lot of Transformer fans seem at all happy about this.

I have to be honest here: I’m not all that happy about it, either.

As of this moment, I’m going back and reading all of my previous posts about BotCon. They are filled with a sense of community, of family. For me, BotCon wasn’t simply about the toys or the reveals or any of that. It was about the people. It was about seeing my friends and making new ones. Peter Cullen said it best, “We’re all family.”

I’m not getting that feeling from this. If anything, it feels as if Hasbro is trying to make a cash grab. I’m not sure if I like that at all.

Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe this will turn out all right. But there are those quiet, nagging doubts that are telling me otherwise.

I really hope those doubts are completely wrong.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in BotCon, Nerd and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another HASCON Update

  1. devicedude says:

    This HasCon update gives a glimmer of hope but it is still not enough. I hope Transformers is given as much attention or more than their other brands they’re showcasing…

    ~daiAtlas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silverwynde says:

    Yeah, therein lies the problem: Hasbro seems to be focused on the other properties but on Transformers, not so much. It’s worrisome to me to say the very least.

    Now, I am glad to know that we’re getting an exclusive of some sort but until I know what it is, I can’t use it to justify the $600 ticket package. That’s more than a little troubling here. It feels as if Hasbro doesn’t quite know what they are doing with this convention and I don’t like that at all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

