Morning Coffee: Cup Twenty-Nine

morning_coffeeToday’s post is brought to you by: Hills Bros. Original Blend.

It’s time for another Morning Coffee post, where I pick through the detritus of my life and see what might make for an interesting post. Here we go!

-On June 22nd, the Nintendo Badge Arcade will release its last update. Apparently, the game ended updates in Japan back in May and will end updates in Europe on the 23rd, a day after the US. I’m a little torn on this; the game was annoying as hell, with shit physics that would screw you over in order to make you pay them. But they also had Pokémon badges, which I really liked. I guess I’m going to miss the game a little bit. Prime, probably not as much.

-The weather hasn’t been too awful as of late; warm but not too humid. As long as it can stay like this, summer will be bearable.

-Tomorrow, Prime and I will be heading to the Milwaukee area in order to catch an early showing of Transformers: the Last Knight. I’m thinking about putting up a review on Wednesday; I’ll keep it brief and try my best not to channel Roger Ebert.

-Prime and I just saw Take Me Out to the Holosuite. It was awesome. DS9 is rapidly becoming one of my favorite Trek series.

-Before you ask: Prime and I are fine. Yes, we had some pretty bad storms in our area but we’re okay. We didn’t lose power or anything like that. We’re pretty lucky but others weren’t.

-JoeCon just came to a close this Sunday but next year’s Con has already been announced: Chattanooga, Tennessee June 21-24, 2018. Prime actually seems a bit interested and I can’t say that I’m not completely unattracted myself. HASCON might be the “official” Transformers convention but its untested and an unknown. What little I’ve been seeing makes me hesitant.  No, I’m not the biggest GI Joe fan on the planet but some of the dealers actually had Transformers there. Like I said, there’s a bit of an attraction now.

-We’ve gotten a decent amount of rain around here. It can stop for a little bit, so we can enjoy the summer.

-I’ve been staying off Facebook as of late. It’s gotten worse over there and it looks as though it won’t be getting better any time soon. Yes, there are moderators who look at what you report but it seems that Facebook’s guidelines are insanely loose; violent wording–such as “I’ll fucking kill you, asshole!”–is allowed as Facebook doesn’t see it as a credible threat. It seems Facebook is catching heat on this but I say it’s just a matter of time before the lax standards blow up in Zuckerberg’s face and there’s an actual assault. Of course, by that time it’ll be too late but what the hell do I know?

-For the hell of it, I looked up the old theatres in my hometown. Every damn one of them is closed. Every one of them. It seems the smaller theatres have been replaced by multiplexes. I don’t know how I feel about that.

And that just about does it. Tune in next time where I scrabble through the scraps of my rather boring life in order to make a somewhat interesting post on my blog. Until next time!

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Morning Coffee and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning Coffee: Cup Twenty-Nine

  1. devicedude says:

    I’m glad to hear the 2 of you are weathering those storms. And yes, fuck cancer. 🙂

    JoeCon? Hmmm…I should ponder this. HasCon might be okay but there’s is a part of me that wants it to fail. Bad, yes. But hopefully it would make Hasbro see the errors of their ways and to stick with what works, like FunPub. I’ve liked GIJoe just not as much as Transformers. Still, some things like products sold and invited guests have crossover possibilities. And if it means seeing my friends like before, then Iwould seriously consider it. We’ll have to see what happens in the wake of HasCon and what Hasbro’s and FunPub’s plans may be for ’18.

    ~daiAtlas

    Liked by 1 person

    • Silverwynde says:

      The weather might have annoyed Prime a bit–some of those thunderstorms were spectacularly bad–but we got through it fine. We’re lucky, to say the least. Also, cancer friggin’ sucks! 🙂

      Yeah, HASCON has me torn; I don’t want it to fail but I’m not terribly keen on the idea that it should be successful. The show seems confused, to say the least; there’s no real direction to it. It feels like it wants to be a convention but at the same time, it feels like a trade show. I’m not sure what Hasbro is trying to do here.

      Our friend Shawn thinks it’s when, not if, for Hasbro to go crawling back to Fun Pub. He may be on to something here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

