What Might Have Been

As you know–or even if you didn’t–Pete’s Robot Convention was held this past weekend. There was a dealer room and panels, the usual sorts of things that one might find at an average Transformers convention, sans the guests. From what I hear, it was rather small and intimate, reminiscent of early BotCons past. That in and of itself is enough to make me nostalgic.

Then I was treated to some pictures from one of the panels, one that dealt with BotCon exclusives. There was a mock-up of the box art for the set we would have gotten for this year; the art included a mock-up of the pin. Emblazoned on the pin was the name of city that would have been our home for the convention this year: Pasadena, California.

We would have been back in Cali. It made sense, as this is a movie year. However, seeing that is like rubbing salt in an open wound.

Now, I can already hear Prime groaning out loud, as he’s not fond of the heat, but to me, there is no better area to hold a BotCon than California. Most of the first Generation voice actors live in the area, so it isn’t difficult to get them in as guests. After multiple visits to the area, I have a handle of the city and know my way around, more or less. After so many visits, hearing that we’ll be “Going Back to Cali” was like hearing the words “We’re going home”.

And I’m forced to wonder: what would we have done? Where would we have gone on tour? Would we have headed back to Universal Studios again and had another chance to take in the Transformers attraction? Would we have wandered down Rodeo Drive as part of a tour group? Would we have ventured perhaps into the Griffith Observatory for a look around? Would we have wandered aimlessly or with purpose on the backlots of Paramount Studios, either alone or as a group of tourists? Would we have an exclusive showing of the entire film or just a few scenes from Transformers: The Last Knight? Would the Hall of Fame dinner be an open air affair, with a concert of some stripe? For each question, a dozen others pop into my head.

The depressing thing? I will never have the answers to any of these. Although Pete’s RoboCon gave us a taste of what we might have gotten in the way of toys, other aspects of the BotCon that could have been will never see the light of day: the guests and tours, among others.

That upsets me on a level I can’t even begin to describe.

Again, we have HASCON coming in September. It’s not as if we are completely bereft of a convention. However, HASCON is an unknown and such an unknown that I’ve seen only tepid responses from a couple of my friends; it is doubtful that they will attend. Although Prime and I are set on going, there are still doubts.

I might enjoy HASCON, but I will always ache for BotCon. A part of me will always miss it, just like that part of me will wonder what we could have had, what could have been in those resulting future years.

We can’t go back again
There’s no use giving in
And there’s no way to know
What might have been…

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in BotCon, Grief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Might Have Been

  1. devicedude says:

    Great. Now I’m wishing I would’ve been at this Pete’s Robot Convention. If it was reminiscent of early BotCons, I still recall those from 1996 and 1998, before it started getting bigger in ’99 when I met you 2.

    Had Botcon continued, I figured that in ’17 it would’ve been in LA again what with The Last Knight been released. I am feeling distraught in not returning to SoCal and seen you 2 again, as well as all the activities that BotCon and the tours had. Oh the possibilities of what could’ve happened, had the Hasbro Overlord not pulled the plug on FunPub. 😦

    HasCon might end up being okay but it just will not be the same. To me, it’s a bit like SDCCI where thousands of brands are all under one roof so there’s no headlining brand or theme. HasCon is a diluted convention. I’m still hoping for more focus on Transformers but Hasbro has a history of being unsure of how to market and coordinate to fans. It reminds me of a BC ’98 panel where a Hasbro rep made a mention along the lines of, “Interacting with fans online is new to us” and they couldn’t get beyond slapping English stickers on Japanese LioConvoys…:(

    I am determined to have a good time on this trip I will take in September to the East Coast. I hope to see both of you there. I will completely understand if you don’t go because the cons outweigh the pros…

    ~daiAtlas, who still believes you would be enthralled by all the Griffith Observatory has to offer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silverwynde says:

    Yeah, hearing that PRC–or PRiCk, as Prime calls it–was small and intimate made me feel like I had missed out. I would have enjoyed that, because it always feels a little easier to talk to people in line at a smaller ‘Con.

    I was thinking the same thing: this is a movie year and we would have been in SoCal. I would have loved it. Prime would have complained about the heat. But it would have been fun. And I’m wondering if we might have had a few Movie vehicles visiting us at the Convention center. It wouldn’t have surprised me in the least if that had happened, along with another trip to Universal Studios.

    No matter what happens, I’m going to try and enjoy September. I’m just wondering how big the turn out will be. Something’s telling me it might be on the small side…

    Like

Leave a Reply

