Another HasCon Update

Song-Stuck-in-Head
Human Nature by Michael Jackson.

Thanks to the AllSpark, we’ve gotten more details on HasCon. This is some of what we can expect for Transformers fans; to read everything else for the other franchises, just head on over to the ‘Spark:

TRANSFORMERS
Immerse yourself in the world of Transformers where things are “More than Meets the Eye”! We take you behind-the-scenes through the latest entertainment from movies to animation to comics, and have fun with the latest toys, hearing from the designers themselves how they bring this amazing brand to life!
Ready to roll out? Highlights and hands-on experiences include:
• Get up close to an epic collection of Transformers movie props
• Meet and get your picture with Optimus Prime and Bumblebee costume characters
• Photo Ops featuring statues of Optimus Prime, Bumblebee, Sqweeks, and more
• Photo Ops with Camaro Bumblebee and the IMSA/NASCAR TRANSFORMERS: The Last Knightracing car
• Hands-on play with the latest Transformers toys, plus previews of 2018 action figures and toys
• Historical products from the Hasbro Vault
• Designer Archives featuring prototypes and imagery of never-before released toys
Plus, enjoy Transformers panels and VIP/add-on experiences, including:
• TRANSFORMERS: THE LAST KNIGHT in the Making – the making of Transformers: The Last Knight with producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura and special guests
• More than Meets the Eye – get a glimpse behind the scenes of the Transformers toy line
• PETER AND FRANK SOUND OFF: The Voices of Optimus Prime & Megatron!
• IDW – Transformers Comics: How Artists and Writers Bring Stories to Life
• THE PRIME WARS TRILOGY: See the story come to life!
• TRANSFORMERS Hall of Fame Dinner (add-on or VIP ticket purchase required)
• TRANSFORMERS: The Last Night Movie Event (add-on or VIP ticket purchase required)

So, how do I feel about all this?

All right, getting snapshots of me with Bumblebee, in vehicle, robot and costume form, would make my day. Seeing the movie props would be awesome. Prototypes from the Hasbro vault? Yes, please. I wouldn’t mind seeing the NASCAR vehicle and getting some pics of it. The Hall of Fame Dinner sounds awesome because, let’s be blunt, the Hall of Fame dinner has always been a blast.

Okay, these are the good points. The not so good points?

By the time HasCon happens, we’ll probably already know what we’re getting for 2018. There won’t be anything absolutely new or surprising. As for The Last Knight

We have to be completely honest here: the latest installment in the movie franchise is doing decently but not great. The last I heard it was sitting around $450 million internationally. That’s good but not great. We might be dealing with some franchise fatigue here and I honestly can’t say that having events tied to the newest film would be that much of a draw. The Making of sounds interesting but I fear that the audience might be a bit hostile. The VIP Movie Event? Again, I don’t think that this is going to draw a giant crowd. Even if it does, that crowd may not be all that receptive to what the guests have to say. And again, if I want to attend both of those VIP events, I’d have to shell out an extra $200 to go.

On top of that is the fact that by the time these events happen, the movie will be streaming and on home media. The time to hold things like this would have been about a month ago, to help build some hype for the film. To have this sort of thing in September after all is said and done, so to speak, feels counterproductive. It smacks of a “too little, too late” sort of vibe.

For that and other reasons, I’ll choose the Hall of Fame dinner. The movie event I will sit out.

Before you ask, it’s not like I’m happy about doing this. But on a very basic level, I cannot justify the extra money. If the VIP ticket had a strict limit of two events, then I’d be okay. But it doesn’t. Instead, it’s pay for one and the other. I can’t justify that like I could justify the Golden Ticket at BotCon. Then, there’s the obvious elephant in the room.

We still don’t know what we’re getting exclusive-wise. That bothers me a great deal.

Again, the exclusive will be a big draw for many in the fandom. Depending on what we get, this could lead to success or failure. However, we still are in the dark as to what we might get. We know that the D&D exclusive is a My Little Pony themed dice tin(!) but Transfans are still clueless as to what we might get for attending HasCon. Are we getting a brand new figure? Or will Hasbro simply trot out the SDCC exclusives and call it all good? Will the figure we get be worth the price? There are a lot of questions swirling about this and we still don’t have answers. All these add up to a great unknown that makes me feel oddly unsettled.

Even worse? It looks as if two of my friends–Shawn and Stogie–are sitting this out. With each new reveal, with each little piece of information I uncover, I feel less and less enthusiastic about this. Prime and I are still in the initial planning phase, but we’re finding it damned hard to justify this. To be honest, tomorrow or Wednesday I’m going to go through my suitcase and take out some of the tees I’ve packed; at most, we’ll stay through Saturday and probably leave on Sunday. The last time I was forced to do something like that was back in 1999 and it was more or less out of my hands. But now this looks to be happening by choice. Because I can’t justify staying for the entire weekend.

That bothers me. On a very basic level, it bothers me. I’m trying to be optimistic here but I’m failing at it miserably. Or maybe there’s just not enough to be optimistic about in this case. We’ll have to wait and see.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in BotCon, Transformers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

