Thoughts

It’s that time of year again. I’ve been checking my local Walmart for Transformers school supplies on a daily basis. So far, I’ve only found a pair of backpacks and little else. This troubles me, as this is a movie year, after all. We should be seeing folders, pencil pouches and the like but in my area, I haven’t. Granted, I haven’t checked Target so it may be a case of not looking quite hard enough.

The soft voice of Michael Jackson drifts through the air as I type; earlier, it was a podcast. The silence that filled the den was too stifling, too oppressive, too suffocating. The quiet presses against me, filling my ears.

I need some noise to drown out my thoughts. I’m still upset over yesterday, still feel like crying over what I read. I still feel slightly hollow and sad. I’m not entirely sure when I’ll feel better.

It’s July already. Half of the year is gone. Although the heat and humidity are causing me to complain, we won’t be dealing with that in several weeks. Soon enough, the leaves will begin to change and the temperatures will cool. Soon enough, I’ll be dealing with snow.

It’s going by far too fast. I don’t like that.

When you’re young, a year seems like an eternity. Now if you blink, you’ve missed it. Not so long ago, we had gotten out all the lawn and garden furniture at my Costco. Now it’s being clearanced out and normal furniture has taken its place. Inventory will be this Saturday. We’ve had basic school supplies on sale for the last month.

Where is the time going? Why is slipping by so fast? Summer will be gone in a matter of weeks. How many more will I see?

The music ends. I press replay, to keep the quiet at bay. If I don’t, my thoughts will become far too loud and overwhelming, drowning out everything, even the beating of my heart.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Bitter Truths, Blogging, Grief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

