An Open Letter: To Certain Whovians

BLOG Open Letter
Dear Whovians (you know Who you are),

Yes, we get it: the Thirteenth Doctor will be a woman and to you guys, that shouldn’t be A Thing That Exists. We get it, your world is changing and you don’t like it. But here’s the thing, it isn’t really your world that is changing. Why? Because you don’t own that world.

Let me go ahead and make things clear: that world, the world of Doctor Who, is owned by the people who created it. This is their little fictional universe and they can do whatever they wish with it. I’m not the only one who realizes this.

Let’s remind people that the Good Doctor is a fictional character whose rights is owned by the BBC and their writers. It’s their money and they can write about whomsoever they want in whatever way they want. If people don’t like the choice, then the viewership will drop and they can react in whatever way they want. This is really a great thing insofar as it breaks down barriers that still exist. Strong female characters are necessary to see for children.

Let’s remember that the Time Lord is an alien and there is only the precedence of what the writers have already decided of him. There is no prescription here. They can do what they want.

Now, we’re going to pause and let that sink in for a little bit. Yes, you may love the hell out of this character, but you do not own the character. That is not your character. Unless you were there, during the character’s creation, you do not have any claim of ownership to Doctor Who at all. You are allowed to play around in that universe, in that wonderful world but you cannot bend it to your will. Because it’s not yours to bend. You need to realize that.

Now, I get it. You guys are fans. Change is a terrifying thing. I went through my own sort of “fan anxiety” back in 2005 and 2006. I heard so many rumors about what may or may not be happening. I heard so much that worried me. The rumors about Bumblebee being mute? You have no idea how badly that bothered me. I’ve had a crush on Bumblebee since I was a young girl; the idea of him being voiceless didn’t sit well with me.

But here’s the thing: no matter how I felt about it, it literally did not matter. I don’t own Bumblebee. I may love him dearly, but he is not mine. What happens to him is in the hands of the writers. I have absolutely no say in this. I know that. I have accepted that. It would be best if you do the same.

Let’s be honest here. You guys are fans. That’s pretty much it. The casting of the Thirteenth Doctor is a shock for you but you have no control over this. This decision is out of your hands. Hell, it was never in your hands to begin with, really. You are simply a fan. You are not one of the many writers on the show. You are not one of the people who came up with the character. You have no claim of copyright. You cannot claim that the Good Doctor is your own personal intellectual property. You are simply a fan of the show. You need to remember that.

Now, I’m not here to convince you to watch the show. If the fact that the newest Doctor is female is enough for you to drop the show, I’m forced to wonder just how hardcore a fan you truly were. You haven’t even seen the first episode, you haven’t given Jodie Whittaker a chance. I’ll be blunt; it wasn’t easy for me to adjust to Matt Smith but I did. Give the Thirteenth Doctor a chance. You might be pleasantly surprised. But if you don’t, it won’t break my heart.

Yours truly,

Silverwynde

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in An Open Letter, I Also Write Letters, Nerd and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

