Summer’s End

It’s August. How the hell did it get so late in the year? It seems like a week ago, baseball season started. Now we’re talking about wild card races and wondering when what team will clinch their division.

Back to school shopping is being done in earnest now. I’m seeing more and more pencils, pens, notebooks and backpacks leaving my store. However, I’m having a terrible time trying to find any that might be Transformer themed. Our friend Shawn has double-checked his Walmart; they have nothing. Walmart isn’t the only game in town–we have other stores like Target and ShopKo–but I wonder if it’s even worth the time to check. It’s a movie year, and yet, I’m not seeing a lot of peripheral merchandise.

I don’t like it. I really don’t like it. It also doesn’t help that I’ve had no convention, no real vacation, nothing to look forward to this season. I don’t count HasCon, since it’s in September and I’m not able to go. I feel restless and upset, like I’m waiting for something to happen but I don’t know quite what. I feel stuck, like I’m waiting for news, for something to be done or said that I don’t quite comprehend, like I’m waiting for some nebulous event that may or may not happen and I’m not sure if or when.

I feel as if my life has been put on hold indefinitely. It’s a feeling that I’ve had before, but only just after BotCon, just before the next show is announced. My life is stuck in a holding pattern and I don’t know for how long.

Hopefully, it won’t be forever.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different, Baseball, Life in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

