To Borrow a Phrase

“All good things, dot, dot, dot.” Hope Q doesn’t mind me snagging that for a moment.

Yesterday, I was off and I did something I’ve been meaning to do for a while now: I got on my old blog and made a farewell post. Technically, I’ve been working on that post for the last few months; I just hadn’t made the decision to upload it. It won’t publish until New Year’s Eve at 23:59, so technically the blog is still “open”, if you will. But in a month and a half, I’ll be shuttering it and handing it over to Prime.

Yes, it sucks. But I’ve been meaning to do this for a while now. My main purpose for starting that blog is long gone; even the manager of that old, cruddy job is gone, forced to work at a smaller store. The AP associate is gone as well. Most of the cashiers quit. One of the Stockers has transferred to a different store. An Overnight associate is looking at a transfer of her own. The store has changed. The reason I’m blogging has changed.

The reason I began that blog is long gone. It’s been gone for a while now. That’s something that I’ve known for a bit, but I couldn’t quite accept it. Letting go of a decade plus worth of history rather blows. But it’s time. It’s been time.

Doesn’t help matters that the Blogger dashboard is absolutely awful; apparently there have been updates but those updates have only made the dashboard look busier. The layout is bad, the HTML is still utterly useless–I still have to insert line breaks manually and even then, it’s a crapshoot–and the template is not easy on the eyes. Twelve years ago, I thought it looked good but now? No. Dear Primus, no. The columns are insanely narrow, the HTML will hiccup whenever it sees fit, the font size is far too small… Do I need to go on?

Blogger had its use years ago. Now, it seems like a relic.

If Google decides to shut down Blogspot, I’ll save the old posts. For posterity’s sake, if you will. Some of them weren’t terrible and others were actually kind of funny in a screwed up sort of way. There’s some history there and I don’t want to lose it. As for what may happen in the future?

Be good to that old blog, Prime, whatever direction you may take it. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.


Yeah, I do. I really do.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon--official and non--since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we were both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat, who crossed the Rainbow Bridge on June 16, 2018. We still miss him. But we're now the acting staff of a Maine Coon kitty named Lulu, who pretty much rules the house. Not that we're complaining about that.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different, Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.