Moving the Goalposts

#NoLiesDetected

From the way things look, I will probably never get my Facebook account back. Ever. Prime tried to log in to my account in an Incognito tab and instead of “We had to remove something you posted in November 2021”, it’s now something from May of 2020(?). Basically, Facebook is just picking up the goalposts and moving them back so I’ll probably never get access to my account again.

Whatever. I honestly don’t see Facebook lasting much longer. TikTok seems to be drawing more visitors and teens think Facebook is cluttered and ugly. It’s just a matter of time before Fuckerberg’s little empire implodes. I won’t shed a tear when it happens. Hell, when it erupts in flames, I’ll be there, roasting marshmallows over the smouldering remains. Those will make for some epic s’mores.

The weekend was busy. I was at the door, mostly. It might be that way for a while. Wiesia still has a month left. Kathy won’t be back until April or May. Wiesia is thinking about retirement and moving to Tennessee. Mary is back, but she’s part time and she’s talking about retirement as well. As for everyone else…

Gigi doesn’t want to be there. Period. She’s staying with her significant other and she’s not a student, but she only wants to work the bare minimum. She wants twenty five hours and no more.

Jed doesn’t want to be there, either. If it were up to him, he wouldn’t be there at all. He calls in quite a bit and he also goes home early. In his case, I can understand: he’s in school so this isn’t going to be a permanent position for him. He’s probably going to get a degree and find something else. So no, I don’t blame him one bit. I did the “full time student, full time job” thing for almost three years in college and it caused me to burn out fairly quickly. (Not helping matters was the fact that the university was also screwing over my ex, and I spent a couple of semesters dealing with the messy break up between the two of us.) But piling on work on top of a school schedule is not a great idea.

But it gets better. As always.

There isn’t going to be any outside hiring for the department. We might have a job posting in a little while but management isn’t focusing on getting coverage for the door. It’s not a priority.

Our schedule is completely fucked, we’re down two people, we might have one retiring soon, one of our people on leave might not come back, we have two other people who don’t really want to be at work, and one of our full time people keeps getting pulled into Pharmacy. But, it’s okay! Management will just tell Front End to send some Cashier Assistants to the door! Everything will work out fine!

I just can’t anymore. I literally can’t even.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon--official and non--since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we were both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat, who crossed the Rainbow Bridge on June 16, 2018. We still miss him. But we're now the acting staff of a Maine Coon kitty named Lulu, who pretty much rules the house. Not that we're complaining about that.
This entry was posted in And Now For Something Completely Different and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.