Gearing Up

Calvin_and_Hobbes_Nothing

Just a little wisdom from Calvin and Hobbes.

It’s fall in Wisconsin. The leaves are changing colors and a good number of trees have shed most of their foliage. The mornings are getting cooler and the sun is setting later. It’s officially football season and the only baseball to be seen is the Fall Classic.

Autumn is here. Which means that I have to start getting ready for next year’s BotCon!

We’ll be heading to Kentucky next April and already I have a few clothes packed up. I don’t have my shirts packed in just yet; next year’s theme is Beast Wars so I’m thinking I’ll have to stick to some neutral faction sigils. A ton of Bumblebee shirts may not look so good. Well, unless we have Dan Gilvezan as a guest but I digress.

It sounds crazy but all the prep work I do for the convention makes things bearable. I can get through winter, the Christmas season, and the long cold bitter nights a lot easier knowing that the promise of BotCon isn’t far away. I’ll be able to see my friends again. I’ll get to take a tour and see things that I’ve never seen before. I’ll be able to hear stories from voice actors while I’m attending panels, I’ll see a preview of toys before they hit the shelves, I’ll get autographs from people who are just plainly awesome, I’ll chitchat with people in queues and make new friends, I’ll have a once in a lifetime experience yet again, all because I attended a Transformers convention.

It’s less than six months away. I can hardly wait.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon--official and non--since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we were both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat, who crossed the Rainbow Bridge on June 16, 2018. We still miss him. But we're now the acting staff of a Maine Coon kitty named Lulu, who pretty much rules the house. Not that we're complaining about that.
This entry was posted in Random Nerd Shit, Transformers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gearing Up

  1. daiAtlas says:

    That convention is about 2 months away now. Look forward to Louisville! 🙂
    ~daiAtlas

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.