I Thought I Knew You

Just a few days ago, I popped onto your Facebook feed. I knew I shouldn’t have; it was a bad idea and I really don’t have much to say to you as it is. But what I saw in your feed made me realize that right now, I have even less.

You made a post about Cheerios dropping GMOs from their cereal with the caption “It’s a start”.

A start to what, might I ask?

Let’s be clear here: GMOs aren’t evil but they have been demonized a lot and ususally by those who claim that organics are safer. But organic farming uses pesticides. Organics aren’t any healthier for you. Organics may not be worth the extra money you are paying, sad to say.

I’ll be the first to admit that when I discovered this, I was upset. I’ve been a believer in organics and non-GMO for years only to discover that it was all a bunch of crap. It sucks being lied to, believe me.

Now I get that you’re into gardening; you probably feel that you know a bit more about this sort of thing than the average citizen. But you still need to research this before making blanket statements or judgements. GMOs aren’t a bad thing but to people pushing quackery and the like, making them look bad is huge business and it looks like you’ve just been suckered.

The thing is though, I also know you. You’re stubborn. You want to feel that you are right. Hell, you have a college degree and that should be proof enough that you’re no dummy!

Well, neither are the people fooling you. They aren’t stupid and they know how to use the right buzzwords to trick you. That’s how they managed to trick a hell of a lot of people into believing the “GMOs are evil incarnate” idea. It happened to a lot of us. I happened to be one of them. For the longest time, I towed that line as well.

Granted, there is nothing I can say that will change your mind. I could point you to a thousand different studies that will tell you that what Cheerios is doing is completely pointless but you won’t read them. You won’t pay attention. I know you. I know how stubborn you are and how you won’t let go of ideas like this. But I honestly thought that I knew you, that you would be one of those who would see this sort of thing and read it with a skeptical eye. I honestly had believed that you wouldn’t want to make a quick judgement on this sort of thing or at least try and get all the facts before you posted about it.

Looks like I was wrong, which is a pity.

About Silverwynde

I'm a Transformers fan, Pokémon player, Brewers fan and all-out general nerd. I rescue abandoned Golett, collect as many Bumblebee decoys and figures as I can find and I've attended every BotCon since 1999. I'm also happily married to a fellow Transfan named Prime and we are both owned by a very intelligent half-Siamese cat. Life is pretty darned awesome.
This entry was posted in Bitter Truths, Snake Oil Woo Woo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Thought I Knew You

  1. devicedude says:

    Organics to me are basically an excuse to charge more. The only ones me and Joe eat are the ones we grow ourselves. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

